Polski English Russian German
The Orthodox Church of the Holy Martyrs Pistis, Elpis, Agape, and their mother Sophia in Sosnowiec
41-200 Sosnowiec, ul. Kilińskiego 39, phone: 032 266 07 79

The Orthodox Church was solemnly consecrated in 1889. It is dedicated to the Roman martyrs living in the times of Emperor Hadrian. The temple was built from the red brick and concrete. A very uncommon curiosity is a five-storied bell-tower just above the vault. The founder of its eight bells was Henryk Dietel.

The oak iconostasis, a wall with icons which separates the altar from the place designed for worshippers, was founded by Schönow brothers  and made by the Moscow craftsman- Lebiediew. The icons in the central part of the iconostasis are: the icon of Christ, saint Wlodzimierz and saint Sophie with her daughters. Another curiosities are the icon of  The Black Madonna of Częstochowa, which was given by railway men from Częstochowa and a beautiful icon presenting the patronesses, founded by Wlodzimierz Diebil. The parish came into being in 1890. Its charming décor has not changed for over a century.

This temple is situated in quite an unusual area- it was not built in a prestigious place, what is more it is situated behind the railway station, beyond the town centre of that times. Probably that is why this is the only temple that survived...